Guarda – The Schellenursli Village

High above the Inn, far away from the road in the valley and the railway line, Guarda is in an exposed terraced area and beaming with the sun.

The Engadin village fascinates and captivates the visitors like an open treasure chest: Selina Chönz and Alois Carigiet were inspired in 1945 by the 200-soul village and created here the story of Schellenursli.

With a keen sense of authenticity and passionate craftsmanship, residents can experience the fascination for all the senses. Guarda is a multiple venue, stylish open-air stage and placed in the best terrace location for the Music Festival Grisons Baroque.
All concerts take place in centuries-old traditional Engadin houses and the church.
© Andrea Badrutt, Chur
© Andrea Badrutt, Chur
The village of Guarda goes back in its present substance to the period of reconstruction after the Austrian storm of 1622. 1) According to Not Caviezel in the "Swiss Art Guide" published by the Society for Swiss Art History

From 1939 to 1945, about 30 old houses were restored by the Bündner Heimatschutz. The local architect Iachen Ulrich Könz had created 1937 to 1938 the renovation concept including budget. 2) Wikipedia

In 1975, Guarda received the prestigious Wakker Prize for the intact villagescape. Already for decades it has taken city fliers with grandiose and creative ideas right here - from fascination for the model village of Romanesque culture and tradition
© Andrea Badrutt, Chur
© Andrea Badrutt, Chur
© Andrea Badrutt, Chur

Guarda - Das Schellenursli-Dorf

Hoch über dem Inn, weit weg von Talstrasse und Bahnlinie, liegt Guarda in exponierter Terrassenlage und mit der Sonne um die Wette strahlend.
Das Engadiner Dorf fasziniert und zieht die Besucher in seinen Bann wie eine offene Schatztruhe: Selina Chönz und Alois Carigiet liessen sich 1945 vom 200-Seelendorf inspirieren und schufen hier die Geschichte vom Schellenursli.

Mit viel Gespür für Authentizität und leidenschaftlichem Handwerk machen die Bewohner die Faszination für alle Sinne erlebbar. 
Guarda ist multipler Schauplatz, stilvolle Freilicht-Bühne und zugleich Veranstaltungsort in bester Terrassenlage für das Musikfestival
Bündner Barock.

Alle Konzerte finden in jahrhundertealten traditionellen Engadiner Häusern sowie der Kirche statt.

© Andrea Badrutt, Chur
© Andrea Badrutt, Chur

Das Dorf Guarda geht in seiner heutigen Substanz auf die Zeit des Wiederaufbaus nach dem Österreicher-Sturm von 1622 zurück.  1) Gemäss Not Caviezel im "Schweizer Kunstführer", herausgegeben von der Gesellschaft für Schweizerische Kunstgeschichte

1939 bis 1945 wurden etwa 30 alte Häuser durch den Bündner Heimatschutz restauriert. Der einheimische Architekt Iachen Ulrich Könz hatte 1937 bis 1938 das Renovationskonzept samt Budget erstellt. 2) Wikipedia

1975 erhielt Guarda den renommierten Wakkerpreis für das intakte Dorfbild. Bereits seit Jahrzehnten verschlägt es Stadtflüchter mit grandiosen und kreativen Ideen genau hierhin – aus Faszination für das Musterdorf der romanischen Kultur und Tradition. 

© Andrea Badrutt, Chur
© Andrea Badrutt, Chur
© Andrea Badrutt, Chur